Co-op Vote on the Horizon

May 5, 2018

One contested district in DMEA's 2018 Board of Directors Election

May 5, 2018 — Of the three board seats up for election this year for Delta-Montrose Electric Association (DMEA), only one remains contested. Two candidates will vie for the District 1 seat; incumbent, William Patterson and challenger, Edward Ulibarri. The following candidates in District 2 and District 5 are running unopposed and will be deemed elected at the DMEA Annual Meeting on Thursday, June 14 at the Montrose Pavilion, 4:30 – 8:00 p.m.

District 2: Kyle Martinez

District 5: Leslie Christian Hauck

Ballots will be mailed to eligible DMEA members in mid-May. Members can cast their votes by mail by completing and returning their ballots or they may vote in person at the Annual Meeting. Members are also encouraged to attend DMEA’s upcoming candidate forums to get to know the candidates prior to voting. The forums will be facilitated by the League of Women Voters and members are encouraged to attend and ask questions. Members who are unable to attend these forums can view each candidate’s interview and background statement on the co-op’s website at

The candidate forums will be held on the following dates:

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

DMEA Montrose Office, Multipurpose Room
11925 6300 Rd., Montrose, CO
5:30 PM

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Hotchkiss Memorial Hall
175 1st St., Hotchkiss, CO
5:30 PM

DMEA’s elections will conclude at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, June 14 at the Montrose Pavilion. Registration and voting will take place from 4:30 – 6:00 p.m. The election results will be announced during the business meeting which kicks off at 6:00 p.m. and features a speaker about the changes and challenges taking place in the energy industry today.

Family fun, educational booths, bucket rides, and local musician, David Starr, are just a sampling of the other fun activities members can enjoy. A free BBQ dinner from Jimmer’s Back County BBQ will also be served from 4:30 – 6:00 p.m. More information about DMEA’s annual election and Annual Meeting can be found online at, by emailing, or by calling 877-687-3632.